Political Parties

Althingi, the Icelandic Parliament, is comprised of 63 members elected for a period of four years and representing six constituencies. In the general elections in october 2016 30 women and 33 men were elected to the Parliament.

Representatives of seven political parties hold seats in Althingi: Bright Future (Björt framtíð) 4 members, Independence Party (Sjálfstæðisflokkur) 21 members, Left Green Movement (Vinstri hreyfingin - grænt framboð) 10 members, Pirate Party (Píratar) 10 members, Progressive Party (Framsóknarflokkurinn) 8 members, Reform (Viðreisn) 7 members and Social Democratic Alliance (Samfylkingin) 3 members.

Web pages of the Political Parties: